Tags

, , , ,

IMG_1787Written by: Rose Carruth

At the age of 13, Dr. TaMara (Campbell) Griffin, affectionately known as Dr. TaMara, wanted to be a sex therapist! Yes, you read that right! Your eyes are not deceiving you! I must admit that I, too was a bit taken aback by the initial statement, however as I listened to Dr. TaMara talk about her conceptual framing of healthy sexuality, her spirituality, her background and understanding of healthy sexuality, I was more intrigued than shocked as Dr. TaMara talked more about this interesting revelation – which is also discussed in detail in her new highly acclaimed best seller I AM Sex. I AM Sex is a comprehensive holistic self-love book about women’s sexuality. It tackles myths, taboos, breaks down negative intergenerational patterns, and explores how these things put women at risk for HIV/AIDS and other sexually transmitted infections, and other unintended consequences of sexuality. The book also has a section on female reproductive health. Dr. TaMara covers each topic in thorough detail in a very real and uncanny manner that only comes with ease of her nature as she speaks about healthy sexuality. The passion and intensity emits from her pores.

When probed about her passion for the field of human sexuality, Dr. TaMara stated “I know it may be a little weird and a little bit uncomfortable for people to understand my path given the fear, judgment, stigma and taboo that is associated with sexuality; especially when people learn that I have wanted to do this since I was 13 years old. Nevertheless, there is no doubt in my mind that THIS is what He, referring to God, created me to do. It is with this Divine Knowing and faith that I set out on a path that led me to becoming who I am today!

BookCoverImageBorn and raised in Flint, MI, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Clarence and Bettina Campbell, Dr. TaMara has committed her life to ensuring that women, in particular Black women have the knowledge, skills and tools needed to make safer and healthier decisions regarding their sexuality, and to become advocates for their sexual health. Her passion is deeply rooted in spreading messages about healthy sexuality and creating sex positive women and girl’s messages in the media. According to Dr. TaMara, there are so many negative unhealthy hyper-sexualized messages that our young girls and even older women are subscribing too. She further states “it is time for a new message, one that shows our girls and women in a self-loving, positive and affirming light.”

Dr. TaMara grew up at Metropolitan Baptist Tabernacle and it was there that she began her career in the field of Human Sexuality by working with YOUR Center, the former social service component of Metropolitan Housing Development Corporation. From there Dr. TaMara has gone on to obtain a Masters of Education from Johns Hopkins University, Masters of Social Work from the University of Michigan., both on full ride scholarships. After graduating with a second master’s degree, Dr. TaMara continued her educational pursuits obtaining a Doctorate of Human Sexuality and most recently and Doctor of Philosophy in Human Sexuality. In addition, Dr. TaMara holds over 20 plus sexuality related certificates. She is the owner of L.I.F.E. by Dr. TaMara- Live Inspired Feel Empowered LLC-LIFE. Dr. TaMara is also the Editor-in-Chief of Our Sexuality! Magazine. Our Sexuality! is the premiere magazine for women’s sexuality and sexual health. Dr. TaMara is the National Correspondent and a “Thought Leader” for the Association of Black Sexologist and Clinicians. She is also an active member of the American College of Sexologists International.

Dr. TaMara currently travels the country speaking, teaching and educating about healthy sexuality. Even with her busy schedule, Dr. TaMara continues to give back to her home town. When asked about Flint, Dr. TaMara stated “Flint made me who I am today. Regardless of what the media states and the negative portrayal of Flint, there are some great and positive things happening here and I will continue to give back to my community until I see a sexually healthy community free from HIV/AIDS and other sexually transmitted infections.

When asked how she feels about the naysayers and skeptics, Dr. TaMara admits that she is very unapologetic with her message. “My message is about saving lives, so how dare I not talk about sexuality! How dare I not educate you on something that can save your life! I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that THIS is my Purpose and THIS is what God has Gifted me to do. I will continue to speak, educate, write and teach about healthy sexuality until my very last breath. It’s who I am! It’s what I do! I AM Sex!

To learn more about Dr. TaMara, visit her website at www.drtamaragriffin.com. Join Dr. TaMara movement of Healthy Sexuality #HowDareINot #ISaveLives www.howdareinot.com

